Working with affirmations


An affirmation is a declaration that something is true.

When they are used positively, they can change the way you look at things, the way you feel about things (and yourself) as well as how you do things.

Normally, before people start using positive affirmations, they are already using negative ones without even realizing like:

  • I hate my job. I will always be stuck here. I am never going to be able to find another one.  
  • I am fat.
  • I am lonely.
  • I am unloved.

All of these are just as real as being able to use a positive affirmation and make things happen. The affirmations above can be changed for the positive:

  • I love my job. I enjoy what I do and I am good at what I do too.
  • I feel good about myself. I love exercising and following a good eating plan.
  • I have friends (even if you don’t – Have faith that the law of attraction is at work when you begin to use positivity).
  • I am loved.

It is important to remember that you cannot rely purely on thoughts alone; you must translate thoughts into words and eventually into actions in order to manifest your intentions. This means you have to be very careful with your words, choosing to speak only those which work towards your benefit and cultivate your highest good. Affirmations help purify your thoughts and restructure the dynamic of your brains so that you truly begin to think nothing is ever impossible. The word affirmation comes from the Latin affirmare, originally meaning “to make steady, strengthen.”

Here are 5 examples of affirmations:

1) I am the architect of my life; I build its foundation and choose its contents.

2) Today, I am brimming with energy and overflowing with joy.

3) My body is healthy; my mind is brilliant; my soul is tranquil.

4) I am superior to negative thoughts and low actions.

5) I have been given endless talents which I begin to utilize today.


Crystal Skulls

My little collection of crystal skulls. From left: amethyst, quartz, rhyolite and tigers eye.

My little collection of crystal skulls. From left: amethyst, quartz, rhyolite and tigers eye.


I have taken an interest in Crystal Skulls which are becoming more popular lately and you may wonder exactly what is it about them that has the attention of so many people.

How can crystal skulls benefit you?

Basically crystals skulls are pieces of crystal that have been fashioned to resemble the human skull (or even dragon and alien skulls).

Once you start to take an interest in skulls and you begin to resonate with the specific energy of them, you may wonder what you can use them for. If you wonder how to utilize this energy you can feel getting stronger as you add to your collection, an excellent use for your skulls is to create a crystal skull grid. Although meditation is a powerful way to use them, when you are not meditating with them, think about using them as part of a crystal grid.

Most people begin with one skull and later add more to their collection. As you add more skulls to your collection, both big and small, a grid is a great way to utilize your collection, including the smaller ones.

You can collect skulls all made of the same crystal; of different crystals and even different sized skulls. The different kinds of crystals have different qualities so look them up when you looking at skulls. I like skulls that are made from a range of different stones, as they have other properties that makes them useful for both doing meditation and for gridding.

Activating the grid can be done simply with a wand, smudging or lighting a candle however you feel fit as again there are no set rules.

I quite fancy telling you all a bit about the history of crystal skulls and may do that at some point in my blog.

How does Tarot fit into my life?


Sometimes when I have clients who have such big questions, it makes me question my own beliefs, thoughts and feelings about Tarot but I always come back to the same thing.

I have found that above all, it gives me the confidence in myself and my ability as a Tarot Reader and this improves the more readings I do. It may be hard for some people to understand how Tarot can help people but it does.

I have felt despair in people and having me as someone they don’t know that is unbiased also helps and makes them feel calmer in a way. Tarot helps people to see things differently. I help people to leave feeling better and with more insight into their own lives and they often leave with such a sense of surprise that Tarot is able to read them so well (never mind us reading Tarot).

I also love that Tarot appeals to people of all ages – young and old.

The Devil and the Hierophant

The Hierophant has 2 students in front of him who are learning and being nurtured with knowledge.

The Devil has 2 grownups who have knowledge but are here where they are now with chains round them, naked.

I feel that sometimes, schooling as children is good as it provides the foundation for our adult life but sometimes the biggest lessons we learn are life experiences themselves. It enables us to develop and fine tune what we like and don’t like etc.

The RWS Tarot Devil card

The RWS Tarot Devil card

The RWS Hierophant Tarot card

The RWS Hierophant Tarot card

The Fool

Have you ever wished you could be more spontaneous and even a bit more unpredictable instead of always conforming and doing what is expected of you? Is it wrong to be this way? I mean, when you question why you should do things a certain way (or even do them at all) you may sometimes get told stuff like “That’s the way it always has been done.”

There is nothing wrong with being unique or doing the unexpected. This makes you unique and individual instead of being a conformist. It is definitely a brave thing to do as well.

An example is when I began my Tarot life and having to tell my parents. I was 35 at the time and my Dad as you may know, told me to stop doing it. He didn’t want me to do Tarot.

Whatever your chosen path is in life, it’s about being happy with yourself because you have you live with you.

This all reminds me of the Fool.

The RWS Tarot Fool card

The RWS Tarot Fool card


The Devil and the Magician

Following on from yesterday, I would like you to look at the positions of the hands of the Magician and the Devil. They are the same. I have often thought of the Magician as indicating “As above, so below” and then now we have the Devil doing the same.

Perhaps, the Magician is the physical version here on earth of the proactive potential within us all (almost like being on the verge of all the manifestation that is there waiting to be manifested) and then the Devil almost looks like he is igniting Adams tail with his flame which could show how easily we can be influenced (because Adams tail is being easily ignited).

One thing I feel is how important it is to say “NO”. Do you let others influence your decisions?

I feel there is more to this so feel free to share if you have any wiser words of Wisdom.   

The RWS Tarot Devil card

The RWS Tarot Devil card

The RWS Magician

The RWS Magician